Cyrus, Adkins & Walker, Attorneys at Law
Free Consultations

Local 304-521-1582

Toll Free 888-594-7284

Medical quality: West Virginia ranked 50th among states

There are scores of analyses, rankings, lists and assessments of health care in America. Not long ago, WalletHub put together a list of the best and worst states for doctors. That is, what are the places for physicians to live and work?

The website used 11 metrics to measure each state and the District of Columbia, including how much doctors can earn in each locale, as well as how many physicians there are per capita, and how much medical malpractice payouts are per capita.

Of course, our attention went first and foremost to West Virginia's spot on the list. We come in as the 38th best state in the nation for doctors, just behind Hawaii and just ahead of New Hampshire. The top spot was snagged by Mississippi (a winning combination of high doctor earnings and low competition among physicians), with second place going to Iowa and third place secured by Minnesota.

In dead last: Washington, D.C.

The website also measured "medical quality" as part of its analysis of the nation. In that specific and important area, we here in West Virginia fared badly. We rank an abysmal 50th. That's a difficult fact to ignore when you or a loved one is admitted to a hospital.

While these kinds of lists can be fascinating, and can spark debate around the water cooler, they mean little to someone who has suffered injury at the hands of a negligent doctor. In those situations, a conversation with a skilled attorney experienced in medical malpractice litigation can help the victim fully understand his or her legal options.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Super Lawyers 2015 John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2016 Mediation - Charleston, WV John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2013 Mediation - Charleston, WV distinguished Lexis Nexis Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Rated for ethical standards and legal ability
The Best Lawyers in America National academy of distinguished neutrals 2008