Cyrus, Adkins & Walker, Attorneys at Law
Free Consultations

Local 304-521-1582

Toll Free 888-594-7284

Woman to receive $3.5 million after surgical error

She was just 30 years old when she went to a hospital for the delivery of her fourth child. Rather than being cause for celebration, the hospital stay was devastating for the woman.

An error during surgery resulted in the severing of a major artery, which caused the young woman to have a stroke. She has permanently lost some cognitive function as a result of the surgical error.

A jury recently awarded the North Dakota woman $3.5 million after a two-week medical malpractice trial.

The woman went into the Bismarck hospital back in 2012 to have her baby. Following delivery, she experienced chest pain and shortness of breath, so the doctor ordered a CT scan. The scan showed enlarged lymph nodes and the doctor decided to perform a biopsy.

It was during the biopsy that he accidently severed her innominate artery, a large artery that supplies blood to the right side of the brain and neck. The cut caused a stroke, which led to paralysis on her left side.

Though she has regained the ability to walk, she has still has difficulty using her left arm and she has lost some cognitive function, a news report states.

Despite that, the hospital said in a trial brief that she has "made an excellent recovery."

The jury obviously disagreed.

The verdict includes $1.735 million for future economic loss, $1.35 million for future non-economic loss, $265,000 for past economic loss and $150,000 for past non-economic loss.

An experienced Huntington medical malpractice attorney can help you fight for justice here in West Virginia.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Super Lawyers 2015 John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2016 Mediation - Charleston, WV John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2013 Mediation - Charleston, WV distinguished Lexis Nexis Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Rated for ethical standards and legal ability
The Best Lawyers in America National academy of distinguished neutrals 2008