Cyrus, Adkins & Walker, Attorneys at Law
Free Consultations

Local 304-521-1582

Toll Free 888-594-7284

Family grateful for justice in medical malpractice judgment

The story begins with a beautiful image of the woman holding her newborn baby in her arms. Sitting up on her hospital bed, she and her husband beam as she cradles their son.

Less than a week later, the 30-year-old new mother was dead. Almost four years to the day of her death, a jury unanimously declared that her family should receive a judgment of more than $20 million in their medical malpractice lawsuit.

The Minnesota woman was sent home from the hospital after giving birth in August of 2013, though she soon returned to the ER with fever and nausea, a news article states.

According to court documents, the emergency room nurse practitioner who saw the woman ignored test results that showed she had sepsis (a condition in which the body's response to infection can cause tissue and organ injuries).

WebMD says that sepsis symptoms "include fever and feeling unwell." The site notes that "it's rare, but sepsis can happen when you're pregnant or shortly after pregnancy." The importance of getting early treatment is stressed.

Rather than paying attention to the lab results, the nurse practitioner that day sent the young mother home. Twelve hours later, the woman returned to the hospital and died.

After the jury's verdict, the family said in a statement that they are "grateful that they have justice for the loss."

Justice is typically not easy or quick, but many families will not rest until they get it.

Contact a qualified Huntington medical malpractice attorney for more information.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Super Lawyers 2015 John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2016 Mediation - Charleston, WV John F. Cyrus Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year 2013 Mediation - Charleston, WV distinguished Lexis Nexis Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Rated for ethical standards and legal ability
The Best Lawyers in America National academy of distinguished neutrals 2008